38- Rare copper box decorated with ivory... - Lot 38 - Siboni

Lot 38
Got to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
38- Rare copper box decorated with ivory... - Lot 38 - Siboni
38- Rare copper box decorated with ivory plates illustrating mythological scenes.
The ivory plates, finely carved in polylobate cartouches and frames are set with brass nets; the reserves and spandrels present a rich carved decoration of fantastic animals, foliated and flowery interlacing. The bottom of this box is made of wood. It rests on four console feet.
On the façade, the central subject represents the goddess Artemis. She is surrounded by her dogs, sitting on the sun chariot of her twin brother Apollo. The lower cartouche depicts Cronos, god of time, holding a scythe in his chariot. The next 3 cartouches show nymphs and winged figures.
On the lid, the central subject illustrates: Amphitrite sitting on a chariot rising from the water, surrounded by whelk-sounding newts, in the background, Poseidon. The upper cartouche illustrates the abduction of Amphitrite by a dolphin sent by Poseidon, the lower cartouche Amphitrite on Poseidon's chariot pulled by seahorses (half horse, half fish). On the right cartridge is a centaur.
At the back: the central subject could represent Artemis and Apollo, the upper cartouche the removal of Amphitrite by a dolphin sent by Poseidon surrounded by cupids throwing arrows, the right one Cronos carrying the Universe, left Apollo.
On the left side, the central subject: Taken by the nymph Syrinx who refuses to advance, the god Pan pursues her to the banks of the river Ladon. On the lower cartouche: Unable to escape, the nymph asks the help of her sisters who metamorphose her into reed stems while the god Pan is catching her. Divinities and nymphs appear on the other cartridges.
On the right side as a central subject: the goddess Hera prophesies a woman handing her a pomegranate, symbol of fecundity. The cartouche on the left depicts Hermes playing a wind instrument, at his feet the caduceus, on the right a mermaid. The lower cartouche illustrates a nymph of the source. The water flowing from the urn symbo
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

38- Rare coffret en cuivre orné de plaques...

Lot 38
Aller au lot
2 000 - 3 000 EUR

38- Rare coffret en cuivre orné de plaques...

38- Rare coffret en cuivre orné de plaques d’ivoire illustrant des scènes mythologiques.
Les plaques d’ivoire, finement sculptées dans des cartouches polylobées et des encadrements sont serties de filets de laiton ; les réserves et écoinçons présentent un riche décor sculpté d’animaux fantastiques,  d’entrelacs feuillagés et fleuris.  Le fond de ce coffret est en bois. Repose sur quatre pieds consoles.
En façade, le sujet central représente la déesse Artémis. Elle est entourée de ses chiens, assise sur le char du soleil de son frère jumeau Apollon. Le cartouche inférieur illustre Cronos dieu du temps, faux en main dans son char. Les 3 cartouches suivantes présentent des nymphes et personnages ailes.
Sur le couvercle, le sujet central illustre : Amphitrite assise sur un char sortant des eaux, entourée de tritons sonnant le buccin, en arrière-plan, Poséidon. Le cartouche supérieur illustre l’enlèvement d’Amphitrite par un dauphin envoyé par Poséidon, le cartouche inferieur Amphitrite sur le char de Poséidon tiré par des hippocampes (mi cheval, mi poisson). Sur le cartouche de droite figure un centaure.
A l’arrière : le sujet central pourrait représenter Artémis et Apollon, le cartouche supérieur l’ l’enlèvement d’Amphitrite par un dauphin envoyé par Poséidon entouré de cupidons lançant des flèches, celui de droit Cronos portant l’Univers, à gauche Apollon.
Sur le côté gauche, le sujet central : Epris de la nymphe Syrinx qui refuse se avances, le dieu Pan la poursuit jusque sur les rives du fleuve Ladon. Sur le cartouche inférieur : Ne pouvant s’échapper, la nymphe demande l’aide de ses sœurs qui la métamorphose en tiges de roseaux alors que le dieu Pan est entrain de l’attraper. Divinités  et nymphes figurent sur les autres cartouches.
Sur le côté droit en sujet central : la déesse Héra prophétise une femme lui tendant une grenade, symbole de fécondité. Le cartouche de gauche illustre Hermès jouant un instrument de musique à vent, à ses pieds le caducée, à droite une sirène. Le cartouche inferieur, illustre une nymphe de la source. L’eau qui coule de l’urne symbolise l’esprit du fleuve personnifié par une divinité portant des arbustes en guise de chevelure.
Quelques manques, usures et accidents
ALLEMAGNE fin XVIIème siècle
13,5 x 19 x 12,5 cm
Pds brut : 1205 g
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue